top of page
IMG_6964.jpeg

Welcome!

My name is Jessalyn Burden, or Mrs. B to my students. It has been my dream to start a tutoring website that is geared to help those students who are significantly struggling in school. Whether it be from missing instruction during Covid-19, a learning disability, or just having a hard time, I want to do whatever I can to help them bridge the gap that is affecting their learning.

378A57C6-0BE0-4BA2-9A6B-059504F3BC4F_edited.jpg

   Certifications

  • B.A. Elementary Ed. K-6

  • B.A. Special Education (mild/moderate disabilities K-12)

  • Endorsement in Reading

  • MS & FL Licenses

  • SPIRE Reading Intervention 

  • Dyslexia Course

My Story

378A57C6-0BE0-4BA2-9A6B-059504F3BC4F_edited.jpg
9A5DEEF6-8E45-43A6-B4FA-270157DA2963_1_201_a.heic

        I was born in Alberta, Canada, but grew up in Romania as a missionary kid. I am the oldest of 5 children, who were all homeschooled. During my senior year of high school, as well as the gap year I took after that, I taught ESL (English as a Second Language) to Romanian children. I volunteered at Romanian summer camps, and other camps that gave me the opportunities to work with children. It was during that year that I applied to different universities in Mississippi where I had some family and made the decision to get my education degree. I officially left my entire immediate family and moved in March 2016. I began my four year degree as an elementary education major, but after one semester, I decided to go for the double major and add on the degree of Special Education: mild/moderate disabilities, as well as an endorsement in reading. During my student teaching, (Winter 2020) in an elementary self-contained classroom, I knew that I did not want to be a regular general education classroom teacher, but wanted to work with the significantly lower students. 

 

I received my B.S. in Elementary (K-6) and Special Education (K-12) at the University of Southern Mississippi in 2020. I went on to teach my first year at Petal Elementary in Mississippi as a 3rd-grade Inclusion teacher. During my time at PES, I worked with a group of students with varying learning disabilities that were integrated into the general education classroom. I supported them in their classes, as well as one-on-one and small group daily interventions. I was in charge of creating and following their IEPS (individual education plan), and making sure that they met their yearly goals.

In July, 2021 my husband accepted a job in Boca Raton, Florida and we moved 12 hours away to brand new place. I started a job in Wellington, FL as an ESE (Exceptional Student Education) teacher where I had a caseload of about 50+ students and supported them (K-5) in the general education classroom based on their IEP goals. 

As much as I love being a teacher, my dream is to tutor students the way that is best for them, without the pressures of public school, and state and district tests. It is a passion that I can take with me.

Thank you for coming on this journey with me!

Learn more about Inspired Tutors and my story in this podcast!

Contact

I would love to help your struggling child! Let's connect!

(561) 479-6848

9A5DEEF6-8E45-43A6-B4FA-270157DA2963_1_201_a.heic
  • Youtube
  • Amazon
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
  • facebook
bottom of page